Weekly Devotional 3/8/17: Sufficient

“Surely He has borne our griefs – sickness, weakness, and distress – and carried our sorrows and pain. … He was wounded for our transgressions; He was bruised for our guilt and iniquities. The chastisement needful to obtain peace and well-being for us was upon Him, and with the stripes that wounded Him we are healed and made whole.”    Is. 53:4-5

CRUCIFIX RED SUNSUFFICIENT

Seized and stripped and slapped and spit upon,
Scornful salutations; sorrow; shame;
Satan stalks the Son of God and Son of Man
Scarlet stripes, scalding tears, searing pain;

Search the scriptures; surely they the story tell:
Insatiable evil struck; the Lamb was slain.
But surely, it’s my sins He bore, my sorrow and shame,
My sickness my distress, my grief, my pain.

Submitted Sacrifice: He sealed the promise;
Sufficient, He bought me peace with God again.

 

 

***

 

 

Leave a Reply

